Local News

Buaben Asamoa, Ohene Ntow, Adorye, Boniface, no longer NPP members

Listen to this Article Now

Hopeson Adorye, Nana Ohene Ntow, Boniface Abubakar Saddique, and Yaw Buaben Asamoa have officially forfied their membership of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) following their decision to join Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen’s Movement for Change as part of his independent presidential campaign. The four members publicly endorsed Kyerematen, who recently resigned from the NPP to form a new movement called Movement for Change.

Kyerematen dropped out of the NPP’s presidential primary and resigned in September, indicating his readiness to compete in the 2024 presidential election as an independent candidate. After his resignation, they remained loyal to him and joined him on his campaign to amass volunteers and support.

The NPP’s constitution states that any member who decides to join any aspirant against the chosen candidate automatically forfeits their membership. At the final funeral rites of former First Lady Theresa Aba Kufuor, some members reportedly mobilized supporters for Alan Kyerematen and distributed T-shirts inscribed with the Movement for Change symbol of a butterfly to canvass support for him.

The leadership of the NPP has taken notice of recent activities of Adorye, Asamoa, Ntow, and Saddique, which includes publicly endorsing the candidature of a person other than the duly elected Presidential Candidate, His Excellency Dr. Alhaji Mahamudu Bawumia. Despite their flagrant breach of the Party’s Constitution, the aforementioned men still hold themselves out as members of the NPP.