Check out the list of new cardinals named by Pope Francis

Listen to this Article Now

Pope Francis will install 21 men as Roman Catholic cardinals at a ceremony known as a consistory on Aug. 27.

Cardinal Electors under 80 will be able to enter a conclave to elect the next pope after Francis dies or retires:

  1. Archbishop Arthur Roche (British) – Prefect of the Vatican Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments
  2. Archbishop Lazzaro You Heung-sik (South Korean) – Prefect of the Vatican Congregation for the Clergy
  3. Archbishop Fernando Vérgez Alzaga (Spanish) – President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate for Vatican City State
  4. Archbishop Jean-Marc Aveline – Metropolitan Archbishop of Marseille, France
  5. Bishop Peter Okpaleke – Bishop of Ekwulobia, Nigeria
  6. Archbishop Leonardo Ulrich Steiner – Metropolitan Archbishop of Manaus, Brazil
  7. Archbishop Filipe Neri António Sebastião di Rosário Ferrão – Archbishop of Goa and Damão, India
  8. Bishop Robert Walter McElroy – Bishop of San Diego, California, United States
  9. Archbishop Virgilio Do Carmo Da Silva – Archbishop of Dili, East Timor
  10. Bishop Oscar Cantoni – Bishop of Como, Italy
  11. Archbishop Anthony Poola – Archbishop of Hyderabad, India
  12. Archbishop Paulo Cezar Costa – Metropolitan Archbishop of Brasília, Brazil
  13. Bishop Richard Kuuia Baawobr – Bishop of Wa, Ghana
  14. Archbishop William Goh Seng Chye – Archbishop of Singapore
  15. Archbishop Adalberto Martínez Flores – Metropolitan Archbishop of Asunción, Paraguay
  16. Archbishop Giorgio Marengo (Italian) – Apostolic Prefect of Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.

New cardinals over 80:

  1. Archbishop Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal – Archbishop Emeritus of Cartagena, Colombia
  2. Archbishop Lucas Van Looy – Archbishop Emeritus of Gent, Belgium
  3. Archbishop Arrigo Miglio – Archbishop Emeritus of Cagliari, Italy
  4. Fr. Gianfranco Ghirlanda, S.J. – Professor of Theology
  5. Msgr. Fortunato Frezza – Canon of Saint Peter’s Basilica