General News

Vetting of Deputy Ministerial Nominees, Minister of State-Designate Starts Today

Listen to this Article Now

The Appointments Committee of Parliament will sometime in the afternoon, Wednesday, June 2, 2021, start the checking of the President’s candidates for the places of a Minister of State and 39 Deputy Ministers.

The planned formal review, which will end on Tuesday, June 15, will start at 10:00 am every day.

The candidates are relied upon to exhibit their availability to serve the country.

President Akufo-Addo presented the rundown of candidates to the Speaker of Parliament on April 21, 2021.

Ten of the candidates are ladies.

The rundown additionally included first-time Members of Parliament like Hassan Tampuli and John Ampontuah Kumah.

Various Ministers additionally kept up their portfolios from President Akufo-Addo’s initial term, including Abena Osei-Asare at the Finance Ministry, Mohammed Amin Adam, William Owuraku Aidoo at the Energy Ministry, Osei Bonsu Amoah at the Local Government, Decentralization and Rural Development and Tina Mensah at the Health Ministry, among others.

Furthermore, a previous delegate Minister of Finance, Charles Adu-Boahen, was additionally selected as the Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance.

In the interim, Parliament has distributed the schedule for the verifying.

First to be verified by the Appointment’s Committee is the Minister of State-assign for Finance, Charles Adu-Boahen.

He will be trailed by the Deputy Minister-assign for Lands and Natural Resources, Benito Owusu-Bio, and the Deputy Ministers-assign for Local Governance, Decentralization and Rural Development, Augustine Collins Ntim, and Osei Bonsu Amoah separately.

Appointee Ministers-assign for Energy, Finance, Food and Agriculture, and Railway Development will have their chance on Thursday, June 3, 2021.